Urgent: Victorian Anti-Vaping Bill

Australian-Flag-1200

Urgent Call to Action:

Victorian Tobacco Amendment Bill

On June 8th the Victorian Government will be voting on the Tobacco Amendment Bill, which will regulate e-cigarettes the same way as tobacco products. Vendors will not be able to display their products or offer juice tasting in-house, and users will not be able to vape in smoke-free zones. Vape Meets at pubs and clubs will be banned.

These restrictions will cripple the retail vaping industry, discourage smokers from switching to e-cigarettes and force vapers into smoking areas in public places. It sends a strong message that vaping is just as bad as smoking. In future, as even more severe restrictions are placed on smoking, vaping will be included.

This Bill was introduced without any public consultation.

We need to get the Liberals in the Legislative Assembly/Lower House to accept that there has not been enough consultation on this important issue, and that the Bill needs to be sent to Committee or Parliamentary Inquiry. We need to write to them WITHIN A WEEK. The Bill will go again to the Lower House/Legislative Assembly on June 8th, and we need to make sure the Liberal members are contacted before this date, the earlier the better.

So this week, it’s all about the Legislative Assembly/Lower House. If you are in a Labor seat, it’s still worth writing. As a voter in their seat, a letter written directly by yourself (not a copy and paste) is thought to represent at least 200 people’s opinions. A real typed or hand written letter delivered has more impact than email. Do both. It’s also worth writing seperately to the Shadow Health Minister, Mary Wooldridge. She is key.

Your Letter To Members of the Legislative Assembly (see list below)

a) explain that you are writing about the Tobacco Amendment Bill before Victorian Parliament that would severely restrict vaping
b) say how you think it could harm yourself and thousands of Victorian vapers
c) give your personal story about how vaping has helped you
d) say that this is too important to rush through without consultation and you humbly request them to reject the current Bill and subject it to an Inquiry or Committee where consultations with other public health experts, vape shops, and consumers can occur.
e) email your letter and for maximum effect, print, sign and post it as well
f) send your own original letter by bulk email to all Members if you wish

Following is a list of contact details for Victorian Liberal Party Members of the Legislative Assembly (Lower House). Details for all members will be added shortly.

Victorian Legislative Assembly (Liberal Party)

matthew.guy@parliament.vic.gov.au
david.hodgett@parliament.vic.gov.au
brian.paynter@parliament.vic.gov.au
heidi.victoria@parliament.vic.gov.au
bill.tilley@parliament.vic.gov.au
robert.clark@parliament.vic.gov.au
louise.asher@parliament.vic.gov.au
graham.watt@parliament.vic.gov.au
david.southwick@parliament.vic.gov.au
Cindy.McLeish@parliament.vic.gov.au
christine.fyffe@parliament.vic.gov.au
nick.wakeling@parliament.vic.gov.au
neil.angus@parliament.vic.gov.au
Brad.Battin@parliament.vic.gov.au
neale.burgess@parliament.vic.gov.au
john.pesutto@parliament.vic.gov.au
tim.smith@parliament.vic.gov.au
michael.obrien@parliament.vic.gov.au
david.morris@parliament.vic.gov.au
michael.gidley@parliament.vic.gov.au
gary.blackwood@parliament.vic.gov.au
martin.dixon@parliament.vic.gov.au
richard.riordan@parliament.vic.gov.au
Dee.Ryall@parliament.vic.gov.au
louise.staley@parliament.vic.gov.au
Kim.Wells@parliament.vic.gov.au
murray.thompson@parliament.vic.gov.au
andrew.katos@parliament.vic.gov.au
roma.britnell@parliament.vic.gov.au
ryan.smith@parliament.vic.gov.au

Matthew Guy – Leader of the Opposition (Bulleen)
matthew.guy@parliament.vic.gov.au
https://www.facebook.com/MatthewGuyMP
https://twitter.com/MatthewGuyMP
Shop 30D, Bulleen Plaza, 101 Manningham Road, Bulleen, VIC 3105

David Hodgett – Deputy Leader (Croydon)
david.hodgett@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/davidhodgettmp
http://twitter.com/DavidHodgettMP
60 Main St
Croydon VIC 3136

Brian Paynter (Bass)
brian.paynter@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/BrianPaynterBass
http://twitter.com/brianpaynterlib
26 McBride Avenue
Wonthaggi 3995

Heidi Victoria (Bayswater)
heidi.victoria@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/pages/Heidi-Victoria-MP/130177900357309
http://twitter.com/heidivic
2/40 Station St
Bayswater VIC 3153

Bill Tilley (Benambra)
bill.tilley@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/BillTilleyMP
14 Stanley Street
Wodonga VIC 3690

Robert Clark (Box Hill)
robert.clark@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/robert.clark.mp
http://twitter.com/RobertClarkMP
24 Rutland Road
Box Hill VIC 3128

Louise Asher (Brighton)
louise.asher@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://twitter.com/LouiseAsherMP
315 New Street
Brighton VIC 3186

Graham Watt (Burwood)
graham.watt@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/grahamwattmp
http://twitter.com/GrahamWattMP
1342 Toorak Road
Camberwell 3124

David Southwick (Caulfied)
david.southwick@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/southwickmp
http://twitter.com/SouthwickMP
Suite 1,
193 Balaclava Road
Caulfield North
VIC 3161

Cindy McLeish (Eildon)
Cindy.McLeish@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/CindyMcLeishMP
http://twitter.com/CindyMcLeishMP
Shop 10
38-40 Bell Street
Yarra Glen 3775

Christine Fyffe (Evelyn)
christine.fyffe@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/ChristineFyffeMP
143 Main Street
Lilydale VIC 3140

Nick Wakeling (Ferntree Gully)
nick.wakeling@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/NickWakeling
http://twitter.com/NickWakelingMP
Unit 4,
91 Dorset Road
Ferntree Gully
VIC 3156

Neil Angus (Forest Hill)
neil.angus@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/NeilAngusMLA
4 Lawrence Street
Blackburn South
VIC 3130

Brad Battin (Gembrook)
Brad.Battin@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/BradBattinMP
http://twitter.com/BradBattinMP
Suite 5,
6-8 Langmore Lane
Berwick VIC 3806

Neale Burgess (Hastings)
neale.burgess@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/nealeburgessmp
http://twitter.com/NealeBurgess
6 Eramosa Road
Somerville VIC 3912

John Pesutto (Hawthorn)
john.pesutto@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/JohnPesutto
http://twitter.com/JohnPesutto
325 Camberwell Road
Camberwell, VIC 3124

Tim Smith (Kew)
tim.smith@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/TimSmithKew
http://twitter.com/TimSmithMP
Suite 1/ 400 High Street
Kew 3101

Michael O’Brien (Malvern)
michael.obrien@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://twitter.com/michaelobrienmp
313 Waverley Road
Malvern East 3145

David Morris (Mornington)
david.morris@parliament.vic.gov.au
321 Main Street
Mornington
VIC 3931

Michael Gidley (Mount Waverley)
michael.gidley@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/michaelgidley
http://twitter.com/michaelgidley
Suite 1, 40 Montclair Ave
Glen Waverley 3150

Gary Blackwood (Narracan)
gary.blackwood@parliament.vic.gov.au
3/24 Mason Street
Warragul VIC 3820

Martin Dixon (Nepean)
martin.dixon@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/garyblackwoodmp
http://twitter.com/GaryBlackwoodMP
PO Box 250
McCrae VIC 3938

Richard Riordan (Polwarth)
richard.riordan@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/RichardRiordanforPolwarth
115A Bromfield Street
Colac, VIC 3250

Dee Ryall (Ringwood)
Dee.Ryall@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/DeeRyallMP
http://twitter.com/DeeRyall
44 New Street
Ringwood 3134

Louise Staley (Ripon)
louise.staley@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/LouiseStaleyRipon
http://twitter.com/louisestaley
177 High Street
Maryborough 3465

Kim Wells (Rowville)
Kim.Wells@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/KimWellsMP
http://twitter.com/kimwellsmp
9 Lynton Place
Scoresby 3179

Murray Thompson (Sandringham)
murray.thompson@parliament.vic.gov.au
Suite 3,
56-60 Bay Road
Sandringham
VIC 3191

Andrew Katos (South Barwon)
andrew.katos@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/AndrewKatosforSouthBarwon
http://twitter.com/andrewkatosmp
152 High Street
Belmont VIC 3216

Roma Britnell (South-West Coast)
roma.britnell@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/RomaBritnellforSWC
http://twitter.com/RomaBritnell
94 Liebig Street
Warrnambool 3280

Ryan Smith (Warrandyte)
ryan.smith@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/MPRyanSmith
Suite 2, 1020 Doncaster Road
Doncaster East 3109

Shadow Health Minister (Legislative Council)
Mary Wooldridge – (Eastern Metropolitan Region)
mary.wooldridge@parliament.vic.gov.au
http://facebook.com/MaryWooldridgeMP
http://twitter.com/mary_wooldridge
PO Box 428, Blackburn, VIC 3130

For more detailed guidelines on how to write to politicians please read this thread.

http://www.vapercafeaustralia.com/threads/how-to-write-to-federal-politicians.2950/

The same principles apply when writing to State politicians as they do to Federal MPs

Contact details for all Members of the Victorian Legislative Assembly:

http://www.vapercafeaustralia.com/threads/victorian-lower-house-contact-details.3225/

Originally posted on Vaper Cafe Australia by NNAlliance (AU) Reproduced by kind permission

nna-au

Posted in Campaigns Tagged with: , ,

Subscribe via Email

Enter your email address to receive "In the News" by email.